online chess

Online Chess

Grant and you will gain!
Funky name, real matters
[ Sign up | Log in | Guest ] (beta)
cprice404 ♡ 75 ( +1 | -1 )
bishop endings hi all... i'm somewhat of a novice chess player, and i'm just now starting to learn about endgames. in one of my current games here on gameknot, i've got an endgame situation which i've not encountered before. For all practical purposes, it is a King & Bishop vs. a King & Pawn. assuming "correct play", is there a pre-determined outcome for such a scenario? It is not possible to achieve checkmate with only a bishop, is it?

for reference, the game in question is board #273655. Since this game is still in progress, please do not suggest any moves; instead I am just hoping someone can tell me "assuming correct play, the game will result in a draw" or "white should win", etc.

thanks in advance for any feedback!
brunetti ♡ 47 ( +1 | -1 )
Well a pure Bishop vs. pawn ending is a simple draw, unless the pawn is going to be promoted and the Bishop can't stop it. In all "normal" situations the Bishop can be sacrificed on the pawn, for a draw, or, if the King is near, the pawn can be captured for free, but the K+Bishop vs. K ending is a dead draw.
But in your game I can see other pawns: this alter the judgement. I can't tell you nothing about that; only consider that a Bishop or a Knight are worth 3 pawns, normally.

v_glorioso12 ♡ 10 ( +1 | -1 )
its a draw unless something really weird happens, or if black can get his king to the white pawns ...
More: Chess
acne ♡ 5 ( +1 | -1 )
i think black will win this endgame
calmrolfe ♡ 6 ( +1 | -1 )
Black Black has a totally won endgame (with correct play)

cprice404 ♡ 4 ( +1 | -1 )
thanks thanks for the info, all of you! i think i see how to finish it now.
brunetti ♡ 16 ( +1 | -1 )
Since I cannot check everyday your game, when it will be finished please post something here; I'd like to comment something.

cprice404 ♡ 12 ( +1 | -1 )
brunetti thanks, I would appreciate that! I will definitely post another message when the game is finished.
More: Chess
cprice404 ♡ 19 ( +1 | -1 )
Done! we are all finished! i'm anxious to hear any commentary. I'm sure we both made many mistakes throughout the course of that game.

thanks spiral, both of our games were lots of fun!
spiral ♡ 7 ( +1 | -1 )
Im unsure... if you should be the one thanking me, I know I learned a lot from our games. Thank you.
cprice404 ♡ 4 ( +1 | -1 )
oh well thanks again to all of you for your input.
certainratio ♡ 5 ( +1 | -1 )
one quick comment White missed a one move mate:

17. Rd8 checkmate
cprice404 ♡ 13 ( +1 | -1 )
checkmate? 17. Rd8 probably would have been a good move, but it wouldn't have been a checkmate would it?

what about 17. ... Be7?
gambitnut ♡ 11 ( +1 | -1 )
Checkmate! The king on e8 would be in check from the rook on d8. Moving a bishop from f8 to e7 would do nothing to help.
certainratio ♡ 18 ( +1 | -1 )
yes 17. Rd8 would have been checkmate.
Can you find a way that Black could
have gotten out of check after this
move? There is none. It is mate.

cprice404 ♡ 38 ( +1 | -1 )
oops sorry I was looking at the board from black's perspective, and i wasn't taking into account the fact that the row and columns were inverted... so when you said "17. Rd8" I was moving the white rook to e1 on the scratch board, which wasn't an immediate checkmate. Sorry about that! now that I see where "d8" really is on the board :) it is obviously a checkmate... thanks to all of you for your comments.